Chronicle Of Anna Magdalena Bach / Sicilia! / Une Visite Au Louvre DVD

Chronicle Of Anna Magdalena Bach / Sicilia! / Une Visite Au Louvre DVD
The three films here give a glimpse of the range of Straub and Huillet - films in German, French and Italian from 1967 to 2003, all adapted from pre-existing texts. They have been described as the greatest of unknown film-makers and their works have never been available on video in the UK before this 2 disc set.
Chronicles of Anna Magdalena Bach: Bach's life told from the vantage of his second marriage is the subject of this almost documentary-like film shot in many of the places Bach worked. Bach's music is the raw material for this portrait of the man.
Sicilia!: Based on a 1939 work banned in facist Italy, the film follows the return to Sicily of an emigrant who spent years abroad. His conversations provide some of the most memorable moments in contemporary cinema.
Une Visit au Louvre: Cezanne's comments on his fellow-artists, as put into writing by the poet Joachim Gasquet, are read out as the camera shows a selection of the works in the Louvre that he admires or criticises.
Aspect RatioNot Specified
AudioFrench, German, Italian
Case TypeAmaray Single
CastGustav Leonhardt, Christiane Lang, Kathrien Leonhardt, Gianni Buscarino, Angela Nugara
ColourBlack & White
DirectorJean-Marie Straub, Danièle Huillet
HOH (Hard of Hearing)No
RegionDVD 2
Run Time202

Write a review

Please login or register to review

Free UK Delivery

  • Views: 2110
  • Brand: New Wave Films
  • Product Code: NW009
  • Availability: In Stock
  • £8.19
  • Ex Tax: £6.83

Tags: 1960s, Director Boxset, French